Alba Series – Phonic books for reluctant readers aged 8 – 12


Alba Series is a brand new phonic reading series for girls and boys aged 8 – 12 who are reluctant readers. The series runs parallel to the very successful Totem series, and is designed to appeal to older readers with exciting and motivating stories and illustrations.

Alba Series provides an exciting, fresh start for older pupils that builds up their reading skills from CVC (consonant/vowel/consonant) level through to vowel digraphs (Phases 2-5 of Letters and Sounds). This highly-structured, cumulative series includes 12 books which cover the essential phonics foundations that a ‘catch-up’ reader will need.

Take an adventure with Alba, a tiny hero in a huge world. 

Alba is a smart, empowering heroine who has to use her wit to overcome literally HUGE odds. Alba’s dad is a scientist. A breed of superbugs is destroying all the apple trees in the world and Alba’s dad is working hard to save them. He has the last apple pip left in the world safely at home in his flat. Max, from the lab, sneaks into the flat and tries to steal the pip. Alba escapes with it but Max shrinks her to 10cm tall! She has to get the pip to her dad in the lab and save the apple trees. She will need to dodge Max who is following her. 

Will she succeed in crossing the city and getting the pip safely to Dad? Will she ever be a normal size again?

The  books include the essential phonic foundations that a ‘catch up’ reader will need.

Features of the series:

  • clear phonic focus in each book
  • 3-4 lines of text for reluctant readers
  • cream backgfound to make text reader friendly
  • dyslexia-friendly font
  • strong female character
  • exciting and motivating story and illustrations
  • multi-syllabic words chunked for the reader
  • comprehensive workbook complements the series

These exciting new books can be found on the website here.


Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS